The shapes of things to come?

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword, possibly back on track, but still needing to catch up.

The news came across the interweebs yesterday of the passing of Calmac.  I generally learned something from his puzzles but I don’t think we ever corresponded in person.  I didn’t know that he was the editor of the Independent crossword about the time I started doing them on a regular basis.  Au revoir Calmac!

Anyhoo, it’s Yorick time – the last Yorick puzzle had a lot of letter substitutions, and it looks like we are in for another grid containing non-words from the preamble, which has a lot going on in it – it appears we have to pay careful attention to clues, there’s either a misprint in the definition (write in answer confidently), a normal clue with normal wordplay (write in lightly, there will be clashes) or a normal clue with a misprint in the wordplay (write in confidently and hope I can do wordplay).  Let’s get solving!

There is a 1 across, but I didn’t solve it until much later so a big fail on the 1 across test.  The grid did get started with 6 across, FUL(l),CRU,M and a definition misprint R, so we are away!

Fortunately most of the clues were of the misprint type, and DRAW FIVE SHAPES looked pretty good, as did BLANKS in the definitions misprints.  With SHAPES as part of the misprints and a nice juicy ANGLE at 36 down, things are looking promising for a RECTANGLE or a TRIANGLE.

The grid fill wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, though I was a little weirded out by two blanks next to each other at 24 down and two in the asme word in both 24 across and 25 down.  With the grid almost complete, I had noticed QUADRI going down the left hand side, and the letters to make the rest of QUADRILATERAL  (not beautifully drawn on my grid)…  are these the four-sided shapes?

If SQUARE and QUADRILATERAL share some sides, then that works – it looks like it has to work, since TRAPEZIUM and PARALLELOGRAM share some as well.

Sidebar – PARALLELOGRAM is a word I have a very difficult time pronouncing.  I get all tongue-tied.

So with everything else in the grid that just leaves the RHOMBUS.  The area of 20 is particularly useful here.  That means a rhombus with base 5 and height 4, which means to have the sides the same length, the angled part must be 3 cells wide and 4 cells high (thanks, Pythagoras!).  That looks like it can only fit in the top left part of the grid.

My working grid for Listener 4465, PQRST? by Yorick

That was a tricky one! Yes, I know my quadrilateral needs to join up in the empty cell, but I think I can call this one a victory to George in a squeak.  I’m not going to go 100% because I never figured what exactly was going on with the clue to MARCHESA, which appears to be normal?  Or was it the S in RHOMBUS?

Game over – 99% completion.

Check back next week when Somniloquist gives us a puzzle that could well be my shirt size.

Leave a Reply

