I’m strange and loopy!

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword. New setter this time around, though Apt is a familiar sight on social media, so hi if you are checking in, Apt.  What have we here?  Roundish grid, a reference to the Oxford Dictionary of Scientific Quotations, which is apparently a thing, and some misprints.  Let’s begin, shall we?

It is worth noting that this puzzle came out two days before dress rehearsals began for the show I am currently in, a revival of Fiddler On The Roof at Haywood Arts Regional Theatre.  So taking advantage of an opportunity to not be stone cold sober, I first worked on this one at Tipping Point Brewery, a highly recommended stop.

There was no 1 across, however there is a 7 across, and in goes TOIL,ET and maybe there is a lavatorial theme with the shape of the grid. Has the Listener ever done a dunny theme?  At the end you have to flush your grid to Green Lane.  Unfortunately the only crosser I could get was ITEMED and so that was that.  In the first session I only managed a few patches of grid.  On the other hand, I was pretty good at spotting misprints in Apt’s clues, so I had quite a few letters of the message.

Solving session 2 was back home and with access to all the electronic dictionaries, and a trip to my campus’ library website to find that indeed we do have a subscription to the Oxford Dictionary of Scientific Quotations.  Hmmm… maybe that’s as good a place as any to start.  My extra letters were HOSTTERLAN… no, they’re not – HOSTTERLAW (I always get thrown when it is the misprints we keep – I did write FCWKCIAJCWLBEN next to the clues in case something came of it.  Anyhoo – isn’t there a HOFSTADTER’S LAW?  “Godel, Escher, Bach” was pretty much required reading when I was in college, and whenever I have had a student who is mathematically or cryptically inclined, I’ve given them a copy as a graduation present.  There is only one quote attributed to him in the ODSQ – it always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter’s Law.  And there it goes (with “think” rather than “expect” and “that” being added to the end) to complete the circle.  I didn’t check with the unchecked letters given but I think that is right.

There was a little bit of sursolving left, the CESSER and CSARDAS area of the grid being helped greatly by having the quote in place, and at the end of two sessions, we have a grid!

My working grid for Listener 4457, Polo by Apt

Woohoo!  I was a little flummoxed by something – the quote is in EGB, and the title refer’s to a sequel, which I figured to be “The Mind’s I”.  However I had not checked in with Hofstadter’s “recent” books, and it seems there is one from 10 years or so ago called “I am a Strange Loop” which explains the title and the quote running around in the loop.  Neat!  This was a very fun puzzle Apt, and a great debut, and I believe I can call it a Victory to George.

Game over, 100% completion.

Feel free to tell me that I should go hang myself with an eternal golden braid, and see you next week when Chalicea has a puzzle describing an adorable sect of puzzle fanatics.

Leave a Reply

