Architecture so organic, it isn’t there!

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword, where you can come and feel good about your mediocre solving skills and not fall into the hype of describing an impossibly difficult crossword you cannot solve without excessive consultation as “elegant”.

Augeas time!  I have generally been able to solve (sometimes with some blundering errors) Augeas puzzles and they have typically been on an interesting theme, so let’s have some fun, shall we?

Clues in blocks of four types, hmmm. That sounds complicated. Looks like real words in the grid, so let’s get solving.

There is a 1 across but I had absolutely no clue on a first reading, so there is a big fail on the 1 across test.  I didn’t get started until PRAIRIE at 12 across, which was a normal clue.

Fortunately PRAIRIE got me a good start at the top half of the grid and the penny dropped extremely quickly – it was likely that the thematic entry at the right of the second row was going to be WEST, and with T????SIN in place and PRAIRIE already in the grid, the possibility of TALEISIN WEST beckoned!

It may surprise readers that I am rather a fan of modern architecture styles (though I may have raved here about visiting Niemeyer buildings in Brazil), so with FALLING WATER in the middle of the grid and the beginning of FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT in the bottom half of the grid, the hard work was out of the way in a very short piece of time, woohoo!

The rest of the grid filled up like lightning, and all that was left was to try to piece together the message.  I couldn’t figure out hat the misprint was in 18 across, but it has to be APHAGIA, and there we have the message – HIGHLIGHT THE MAN AND HIS MAIN INNOVATIVE STYLE.  So there must be ORGANIC ARCHITECTURE somewhere in the grid, to go with FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT.  I spent almost as long trying to find ORGANIC in the grid as I did solving the rest of the puzzle.  PRAIRIE is still left, I wasn’t sure if it was a helper entry or part of the thematic material – I guess with no other option that has to be what is highlighted?

My working grid for Listener 4454, Honest Grey Maker

Augeas has picked another fun theme, however one that I knew a fair bit of before I got started, so this time I didn’t learn anything new.  Still a little puzzled by PRAIRIE (which I have now seen as the intended highlighting) and the wordplay for APHAGIA, but I think I can call this one a Victory to George!

Game over – 99% completion.

Feel free to tell me I should be walled up with a cask of organic amontillado and see you next week when MynoT gives us a puzzle that is golden.

Leave a Reply

