Isn’t a Rabelais some sort of French mustard?

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword, strangely midweek edition.  The solution to Towser’s puzzle has been out for a few days now, and I’ve just seen it.

I didn’t completely finish this puzzle – I came very close, but when I got to the point where I was faced with adding in bars and counting number of entries, I figured that life was too short (and I was rehearsing two shows and preparing for a conference), so that was as far as I got.

I’ll admit this puzzle was very frustrating in the middle – I ended up with most of the grid filled but only two clashes.  I haven’t been using Bradfords’ a lot, but in this puzzle it was invaluable – FOULARD managed to get me going again after a long pause and with it crossing PASTA I could see PANTAGRUEL as a possibility (confirming INK IN at 22 across), with GARGANTUA already in place, which means we were looking at a theme of RABELAIS.  The misprints that lead to FRANCOIS and RABELAIS were the last two I found.

In the diagonal was METAGRABOLISE which contains an anagram of RABELAIS (and as I know now – the words of the title – GOT ME).

My working grid for Listener 4442, Got Me! by Towser

Very very odd puzzle – quick beginning, painfully slow middle, quick end – well near end, since I didn’t go through with the adding bars section.  So let’s call this ultimately a Victory to the Listener Crossword.

Game over – 92% completion.

Feel free to tell me that I could have told you I failed five days ago, and see you in a day or so when Kruger presents a puzzle that is clearly not the Rockies, but may or may not be the Bullwinkles.

Leave a Reply

