A deficiency of vitamin beer leads to losing weight and gaining clarity… dreadful

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword, and woohoo – next week I will be back in Asheville and boy will my printer be working overtime!

But for now since we are back in the world of words, and it’s Jago! As long as the puzzles don’t involve multiple steps of origami I usually find Jago pretty straightforward.

What have we here – for quadrants, answers too long for the entries, looks like some letter squishing and deleting is going on, well it says deficiency, so I guess that must be it.

Let’s get solving – since I can’t put anything in the grid yet I started a word document and started a two column spread for the answers.  I figured might as well go cold solve… there was a 1 across and it was BRID(g)E so we are away with a big pass on the 1 across test, woohoo!

I got a few of the first few acrosses and downs and it was obvious all the B’s had to be removed in the top left quadrant.  Everything I had solved in the bottom left had a D in it, so that looked like a good candidate for the bottom right.  Soon I had half a grid and the unclued answer looked like it could be RICKETS!

Funny how things work out – a long time ago a friend and I started writing a mock trailer for a serial killer who uses vitamin deficiency as a method of torture.  We blocked out a few of the scenes, and my favorite was a single shot where a woman screams RICKETS!!! I thought it would be a joke that almost nobody would get – I have the feeling Jago would like it.  So it’s vitamin deficiences – BERI BERI for no Vitamin B and RICKETS for no Vitamin D.  What’s the bet that SCURVY and Vitamin C are lacking somewhere… yep – bottom right.  Wait a moment, it’s not vitamins – it looks like I’s are missing in the top right.  Well without iodine you can get GOITRE and there it is.  I think it was all done in a bit over an hour.

Wow my notes are exceptionally neat when I’m not working with paper… here’s my grid.

listener_4413

And the notes from the Word document.

1.BRIDE

4.BRANDISHING

9. BENEFIC

11.  WILCO

12.WAYBACK

13. NAIAD

15. BENIGNANT

16.UMBRAE

18.ASTIR

20. BARDIS

21. TIEPIN

23.  LIVID

24.  DECORS

27.  DULSE

28. CATENA

32. FIRED

33. INCLUDE

34. CHADO

35. HEDONISTIC

36. CAFES

 

1. BREWPUBS

2. DEBYE

3. BEFANA

5.BACKEND

6. NANNIES

7. SWAIN

8. INCONTINENCE

10.MAGISTRACY

14. EMBELLISHED

17. BRAIDS

19. SPICAE

22.MURDOCH

24. EXTENDS

25.CONSIST

26. LACKEYS

29. TOLUCA

30. KIDON

31.SCURF

 

NW quadrant – lose B? BERI BERI
SW quadrant – lose D? RICKETS
NE quadranr – lose I? GOITRE
SE quadrant – lose C?  SCURVY

Another fun, straightforward puzzle from Jago (probably what everyone needed if they actually seriously tackled last week’s Math Monster), and I think I have successfully completed a paperless Listener.  Victory to George!

2016 tally:  29-2-4

Feel free to tell me that I really should have finished filming that script (because we should have), and see you next week when… ummm… isn’t it Shark week? Anyway, more Word files and crossword compiler shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

