Righting the wrongs and wronging the rights isn’t as easy as it seems

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword.  I apologise in advance – after scanning the grid I put it in the recycling bin, so I have to work from what remains of my memory.  On the other hand I have the most detailed set of substitutions you are ever going to see on this humble blog.

New setter time!  Hi tnap if you’re looking in.  So what do we have here – some misprints, clashes, and a warning that there will not be real words.  Oh dear – the curse of TGTDNCRW (The Grid That Does Not Contain Real Words – I’ll come up with a better acronym later).  Maybe I’ve come up with one – GNARL (Grid Now All Random Letters), which means using Word Wizards and searching patterns on Chambers is not going to be that helpful.

There was a 1 across and I did not managed to get it, but (f)ACED gets us going.  I had pretty decent luck with tnap’s clues, and managed to put together HEAR ASL Y?LE AND READ – and googling “HEAR ALL” “AND READ” gave me the phrase we are looking for – HEAR ALL YE LEARNED AND READ ME THIS RIDDLE – HOW THE WRONG PART WROTE SCOTT AND THE RIGHT PART WROTE LIDDELL.  So there’s our key – the clashes are the letters in SCOTT and LIDDELL and they have to be replaced.  There’s 35 misprints, and with one name being five letters and the other seven, that’s what is needed to not have any left over letters.  Neat!

I tried doing them manually and started messing up almost immediately, so I went to Excel and created a spreadsheet making sure the letters matched up in order.  I’ll past it at the end of the blog, you will probably have to click on it to see the thing in it’s glory.  Even with that, here’s what my working grid looked like at the end.

My working grid for Listener 4402, Right and Wrong by tnap

I’m glad I got the quote fairly early on, this made for a one-sitting solve, and while I thought it was going to be a slog, it was rather fun piecing together the final grid from the substitutions I knew had to be made.

Happy 4th of July to my Americaland friends – if you’re feeling a vortex of evil and terror from the desert, it is Phi and Sabre enjoying time together in the sun, probably working on a joint submission of a puzzle containing knight’s moves, Cyrillic characters and an inverted Playfair.

I believe we can call this one a Victory to George (the Listener website is updated, and I think I’ve got it all correct).  Not only that, but my spreadsheet below has detail that is lacking on the Listener site, with what the entry is!

2016 tally:  20-2-2

Feel free to tell me I was going to write up the Cure concert, and see you next week when Artix (hahahaha) writes a puzzle commemorating the English Soccerball team – no offence! Substitution table below…

Quote Clue Wrong Right Word Entry Clue Clue Wrong Right Word Entry
H 1A S L SCHMELZES LCHMELZES A 41A C D CONIA DONIA
E 7A C I ACED AIED N 42A O D OCOTILLOS DCOTILLOS
A 12A O D OVERT DVERT D 43A T E NETE NEEE
R 15A T D LET IN LED IN R 44A T L OSTEOLOGY OSLEOLOGY
A 16A T E LEANT LEANE E 3D S L MARS MARL
L 17A S L FSTOP FLTOP A 4D C L CREESES LREESES
L 18A C L CURABLE LURABLE D 5D O I ZONA ZINA
Y 19A O L ODE LDE M 6D T D ECONUT ECONUD
E 21A T I TEAD IEAD E 7D T D ARECANUT ARECANUD
L 22A T D ANGST ANGSD T 9D S E SKILLS EKILLS
E 23A S D PRAESIDIUMS PRAESIDIUMD H 10D C L DANCED DANLED
A 28A C E CARIB EARIB I 14D O L TOPI TLPI
R 32A O L UFO UFL S 15D T L TERAI LERAI
N 33A T L UTRILLO ULRILLO R 20D T I PATIENCE PAIIENCE
E 34A T L TUDOR LUDOR I 24D S D EBLIS EBLID
D 37A S I IOTAS IOTAI D 26D C D MUCIN MUDIN
D 31D O E OLID ELID
L 36D T L TIDE LIDE
E 39D T L ROOT ROOL
Leave a Reply

