Was it a wedding polka?

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword.  Sorry about the slience from this end – I had a very strange end to last week and have had very limited internet access since.  I spent a few days in Washington, DC, then a few days in Raleigh (where I saw Eddie Izzard), and then went to Charlotte to get my citizenship sorted out – so I am now a dual citizen of the US and Australia (with all of the worst aspects of each).  The Charlotte part was planned, the rest was not, so that’s why there is a barely there post for last week, and I didn’t get back home until after the Listener appeared for this week, so this is late.

Anyhoo – Homer time!  It’s been a long time between Homer puzzles, all the way back to the previous incarnation of this blog.  OK – what have we here – some misprints and a theme… in alphabetical order of the clues!  That’s sneaky!  Other misprints… alphabetical order of answers.  Yikes!  This could take some deconcocting, and lately I’ve been pretty good at predicting messages that are in clue order.  Putting them in not clue order has happened a few times, but it ramps up the difficulty.

There was a 1 across, but I couldn’t see it for a while, so a fail on the 1 across test. The next one up is a gentle anagram of SEAPORTS and that means there’s a U… somewhere near the end of the message.

I started trying to keep track of it on a piece of paper, but I made a real mess of that early on, so I took liberal advantage of Excel’s alphabetical sort to get the message to form…

ANSWER MISPRINT CLUE MISPRINT
ALBANY M A M
ARD A BEAM A
ARDOUR K HOMER I
AWRONG E IM R
AYRE E JOGGING I
BFLAT L KENT S
COOF E LONG W
DAMOISEL V MERGE E
DELIAN E NOT D
ENTREPOT N OERSTED D
EVILEYED F POPPER I
GENOESE O TROOPS N
HAGGLER L YOU G
HAVEOUR D
JUDO S
KEY I
LUBNA N
MEMSAHIB G
NEALED R
OUABAIN I
PEARTREE D
PEPYS P
POLLS L
QADIS A
RILL Y
ROTOR S
SALIM Q
SEAPORTS U
TERNION E
TICKEY E
TROKES Z
TWAIN E
WADSET B
XNOR O
ZINCKED X

This looks a lot neater now than it did along the way – the message kind of worked it’s way up from SQUEEZEBOX and I had to revise a few incorrect misprints.

I’d already noticed KEYBOARD forming along both edges of the grid, which looked like this… I’d circled the misprints, which turned out to be a fortuitous find.

 

My working grid for Listener 4292, Going Out In Style by Homer

My working grid for Listener 4292, Going Out In Style by Homer

I did not know MAIRI’S WEDDING, but Googlepedia to the rescue with the lyrics, and a copy of the grid with the folds made and the misprints circled, shows the lyrics…

The concertina version of Listener 4292, Going Out In Style by Homer

Well I learned something there, and I got to scrunch up a grid, so woohoo!  Big assist to Excel, and I hope the all-correct is still intact!  Victory to George.

2014 tally:  18-0-0

Feel free to tell me that nobody’s reading anymore, my becoming a US citizen has lowered the profile of both Australia and the US, and see you next week when Aedites reaches into his inner Dipper and pulls out a shrub.

2 Responses

  1. Billy Connolly does a great sketch on Mairi’s Wedding. You should seek it out.

  2. Very good, George – I’m relieved that I didn’t end your all correct run. Hope you manage to keep going!

Leave a Reply

