Was this where the plot of “The Abominable Dr Phibes” came from?

Welcome back to George vs the Listener crossword – delayed a day by trips to doctor and arm rehab.  One arm, two dictionaries, and a head full of half-assed notions.  Let’s apply those to the latest offering from Aedites – a rare solver that I have met in person.  It has been less than a year since we last met Aedites, in Falsehoods with the tale of Froude and Kingsley.  Before that was a trip through the Glasgow subway in Travel Guide,  a failed piece of bell-ringing in Question, a ring of numbers in Euclid’s Algorithm and rings of letters in Babes.  I’ve had pretty decent luck with Aedites, so I (and my broken bones) were looking forward to a potential easyish solve.

What have we here – misprints leading to a date, surnames around the outside and a victim somewhere in the grid.  Okeydoke…

There is no 1 across, there is an 8 across and I can’t figure it out on the first reading, so that’s a fail on the 8 across test.  I didn’t get any until the double definition at 11 of RHEA.

Fortunately RHEA was a good get, because it crossed three words I saw straight off – MA,RACA, EPEE, LEA,GUE (oh GUE – where would barred crosswords be without you), so the grid stated to fill up steadily.  All real words in the grid helped speed this along considerably, and with the bottom half half-full it appears we were heading towards 1649.  A tripipedia to Wikipedia reveals 1649 as the year of the execution of King Charles I.  From there we are in the home straight – there’s a list of the signers of the death warrant.  I didn’t know this part of history but it did not end well for the signers of the death warrant, most of whom ended up being beheaded themselves.

There’s also King Charles I in a C in the grid finishing things off. This was all finished on Sunday morning.

My working grid for Listener 4264, Commission by Aedites

Thanks Aedites for introducing me to a little bit of gruesome history and I think we can call this one a Victory to George.

2013 tally:  29-7-6.

Feel free to tell me I should not wait until Thursday night after physical therapy to write these, and see you next week when Kruger enables us.

Leave a Reply

