In which Wan gets his nickel in a twist

Before we get going – have a looky at this video.  My sketch comedy group was asked to make a video to promote Asheville ahead of Asheville Beer Week.  It was released this week, and my pink suit rocks the entire shoot…

It was also very cold for most of the shoot.

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword – a battle that the Listener seems to have the edge on this year.  However when I read the preamble for Elementary by Wan (Wan appearing to be a new setter or a newdonym, so hi Wan if you’re looking in!) I knew I was going to be on the side of this puzzle.  That PhD in Chemistry is not going to go to waste, no it isn’t.  Two-letter symbols for elements are transposed between clues, and there’s something hidden in two rows.  I’ve seen a few things done with element symbols but this is a new one for me.

If you’re in Asheville, and now that you’ve seen the video, you know you want to be in Asheville, there are two barbecue joints of note. One is 12 Bones – it’s the flashy, award-winning, President Obama visited multiple times establishment.  However I have a soft spot for Luella’s – it’s open longer and later, has a far better bar, and is walking distance from my place (and has smoked wings!).  And it was there I went on Friday for a triple-L (Late Liquid Lunch) armed with the Listener.  Hey, that makes it a Late Liquid Listener Lunch!

There is a 1 across, but I couldn’t see it straight up… the first obvious answer came with 14 across – swap Te for Nd and get P,AND,A.  With that I was away… this was a very fun solve, and three beers and a plate of wings later, I had most of the grid, and just needed to clear up a few fiddly bits down in the Florida corner (though I was pretty sure of LONELY, JUMP and HELM, I wanted to make completely sure).

I started matching the elements together beside the puzzle, but ended up once I got home having to do it in Powerpoint to make sure they all matched up, and it appears that they do!

My working grid for Listener 4233, Elemental by Wan

Not a plethora of penny-drop moments, but a really fun workout by Wan, and I think I can claim Victory to George!

2013 tally:  6-3-2

Feel free to tell me I really did waste my degree (or my time in getting it), watch the video again, and see you next week when Zag finally puts Dolly Parton in a crossword puzzle.

2 Responses

  1. Hi George,

    I love the video. I also love reading your blogs so it is a very surreal moment reading one on my own puzzle and would have been devastated to read that it had ruined your beer and wings. Waiting for bloggers and solvers’ comments is a nervy time for a new setter (well for this one at least) so I feel a bit better this evening having read a couple. In retrospect there are several things about the puzzle that I could have done better but that sounds like the story of my life!

    I will of course continue to tune in each week and look forward to another surreal moment.

    Thanks and best wishes

    Wan

    • Hi Wan,

      Thanks for checking in – funnily enough, though I did this on Friday, actually writing a clean version of it and mailing it in didn’t happen until Wednesday or Thursday, so I may not have been in time to get it in to the JEG comments.

Leave a Reply

