Lizzy in the sky with diamonds

Welcome back to George vs the Listener crossword, where week after week, I boldly think I’ve finished it and find I’ve made a silly mistake.  Though last week bucked the trend, usually my traffic goes way up when I’ve messed up but last week it was a little lower than usual.  Not that I deliberately fail to get people to look here and then make money off ad revenue.  Buy generic viagara cheep click here.

Well… I bet nobody saw that coming?  Jubilee weekend and it was highly odds-on that there’d be some queenly-themed puzzle.  And when I saw the setter was Jago I thought that was a dead cert.  Add that we have a celebration and a celebrant and I wonder why the title wasn’t just “Hey the Queen has lived for 60 years on the throne let’s do a Listener about ER!” (maybe Jago submitted that title and it was rejected?).  Now on the other hand, Jago has only made his way into George V Listener once, with Rentokil which really showed off my complete inability to fold pieces of paper.

OK, let’s see how this mystery celebration is being mystery celebrated?

There is a 1 across, and it looks like SMA,RM and we’re away… that one meets up with CP/SEEPY, MILLENIAL, AIDES and a unit that still occasionally creeps in to chemical measurement – the MHO (yes, it’s OHM reversed and it’s the inverse of OHM).  PLESH and YE,N,S put a few diagonal lines together.  Underneath that are CONVERSATIONAL and RAILWAY MUSEUM and with COARSEN it looks like our diagonal lines are going to make a diamond.  Now it could be diamond something else.  There’s an outside chance.

An hour or so later, everything is in place. I have to hand it to Jago for coming up with a grid like this that only contained very common words (is he saying something about HM?) and had BILE as part of JUBILEE.  Maybe expressing some distaste while celebrating?

The Queen herself took a little bit longer to find – with 4 characters left after finding DIAMOND JUBILEE, I was looking for QEII (yes, I know it’s a ship, not a monarch), and maybe QUEENLIZ in the diagonal letters, but there’s EIIR up in the top left.

My grid for Listener 4192 - symbolic by Jago

I believe this one was in the post on Saturday morning.

I’m rather addicted to “The Daily Show”, which had one of the funniest takes on the Jubilee celebrations.  Let’s see if I can do an embed.

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Mon – Thurs 11p / 10c
The Queen Who Stares at Boats
www.thedailyshow.com
http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:cms:item:comedycentral.com:414783
Daily Show Full Episodes Political Humor & Satire Blog The Daily Show on Facebook

OK, embed not working so hot on WordPress, but if you click the link you’ll get a giggle!

I’ll check to see if that worked, but I’m going to call that one a gentle, but fun, Thanks Jago and Victory to George!

2012 tally:  18-0-4

Feel free to criticize my lack of enthusiasm for my nominal head of state, and see you next week when we decide if we fancy a taste of Radix.

Leave a Reply

