In which we come up snake eyes

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossnumber.  It’s that time of the quarter-year where numbers replace letters and usually logic replaces wordplay.  Each year of George vs the Listener, this had meant a visit from Oyler – for me the most challenging of the numerical setters.  Let’s recount… last year was Elementary Number Theory, where a bad slip near the end made my grid incorrect.  Before that was Digimix, where I was almost right, but couldn’t add up some long numbers so missed the final step.   Pentomino factory I actually solved, but Odd One Out was a complete wash.  So the tally is Oyler 4, George 0.  Oyler usually checks in here, so hi Oyler if you’re looking in.

What have we here? Nets of a cube!  Hey random topology term!  A net is a two-dimensional representation of a three dimensional figure.  It explains the flat representations of movements like cubism.  In this case, it’s going to be used to make dice.  But all that happens after all the solving, so let’s get to the solving.

Excel and calculator at the ready, time to plow into the clues – actually that part didn’t take too long – there weren’t a lot of options for the down entries, and having many of the complete across entries meant it was pretty rapid to get the acrosses.  However because of what happened last time I did go all the way and make sure I had every entry in an excel spreadsheet (I do not trust myself to add anymore).  Finally – a grid.

This was yet another impressive piece of construction by Oyler – in the final grid there were only 8 of the numbers 1-6.  There were no zeroes at all in the grid!  OK, so where to start identifying these nets?

I started with the 3 in the bottom-right, since it had to be connected to the 4 above it, and the 6 to the left, the 5 to the left of that (so as to not isolate the other 3).  This started looking like a good approach, as I managed to color out four different nets, until I had… ummm… painted myself into a corner.

my working grid for Listener 4190, 2x2x2 by Oyler

back to the shading board

Dammit – I’m so close.  It was just ticking past midnight, but I was a guy with a purpose… these nets are going to be found.  Approach 2 – put the numbers into a word documents and start coloring them in different shades to come up with the pattern.

I think this was version 4…

5

1

4

3

6

2

3

4

2

6

2

1

4

4

6

1

3

5

6

5

5

3

6

1

5

3

3

2

1

2

2

5

1

4

6

1

5

6

4

2

6

1

5

2

3

3

4

4

Well that’s step 2 done… now time to figure out this last part.  It was about 1:30am but I’ve come too far to let this stop just yet.  Problem is, I’m not a particularly crafty person.  I printed another larger version of the grid and hacked away at it with scissors.  I made a mess of it the first time, but the second time I had eight reasonable looking dice.  Do I have any tape to hold them together with?  Of course not, so let’s hope these folds hold.

Started by picking out all the dice that had five adjacent to two – then started trying to combine the rest to get the parameters required in the preamble.  Another hour of twitching, tweaking and re-folding, and I have a feeling I’ve finally got it.  This precarious pile of paper stayed around just long enough for me to take a picture from both sides.

one side of the unstable mega-die

the other other side of the mutant mega-die

At almost 3 am, I believe we are done – transcription into a clean grid and a massive sigh of relief.

my final grid for Listener 4190, 2x2x2 by Oyler

I’ll be really upset if there’s yet another transcription error…

Phew!  Those a lot more spatially-brained will have had a much easier time of this than me, but it was fun to the end.  Thanks Oyler for a pretty staggering grid, and looking forward to the next one

2012 tally:  17-0-3

Feel free to let me know if I’ve put too many scans and pictures in, and see you next week when Nudd gives us a full set of instructions.

6 Responses

  1. This wasn’t meant to show up late, something got screwed up with the scheduling… oh well, it was about half an hour late. Hey, if you look closely in the background you can see a script I was working on, sitting under the puzzle!

  2. Whoopeee!! Well done. Oyler 4 George 1.

    • Thanks – I did get the pentominos one so it should really by Oyler 4, George 2. Hope you got a laugh out of the blog and the note I sent in with the solution.

      • Yes I did thank you and appreciate you taking the time to send in a comment with your entry. My setter’s blog should appear soon – hopefully – and is a rollicking good read even if I say so myself!!

  3. […] reader, so hi Oyler!  Last year Oyler gave us one of my favorites, the cube-net cutting puzzle 2X2X2 (which I got), before that was Elementary Number Theory, which I messed up near the end, Digimix, […]

  4. […] that they didn’t cotton on to the definition of “net” because it came up in an Oyler puzzle two years ago.  But what did the net of an L look like?  The area is 34… is that the total surface of the […]

Leave a Reply

