Did the Earth move for you too?

Welcome back to George vs the Listener Crossword – your home for grumbling, groaning and occaisonally solving.  Last week polarised solvers, it appears, so let’s see what happens with what appears to be another new setter or newdonym in Jaques.  Letters Latent rears its ugly head again, but this time there’s a little extra twist – I seem to recall with previous letters latent puzzles the length of words was given – this time we just have the length of grid entries, so who knows how many of the letters will be latent.  Tricksy…  The latent letters are going to give a title and there’s some moving to be done afterwards.  Wordplay going to be leading to the latent forms of the answers.

Ouch that’s going to be tricky… and indeed it was – big fail on the 1 across test, and then nothing happpening until 11 across where we have ORLOP with a latent L.  I made a pretty decent start on the top left part of the grid (hey, I’m off to New York in a few hours!) mostly by working on the wordplay and looking for a word that could fit the definition – A(O)IL came before knowing ASSOIL, though APISH turning into APS,H wasn’t too difficult.

Wow, Jaques and I were rarely on the same wavelengths with these clues, but it was a pretty arduous task of a few coming at a time.  I think I spent a whole week with peeks at clues once or twice a day looking for inroads.

Lucky breaks come at the strangest times… and of all things it was writing up the post for Brimstone’s Listener.  I scrolled down to see what the tally was at the end of Inn Joke and saw TURPISSUMIS.  I had my pile of puzzles and it twigged that I had PURSIMU in the middle of this one.  Why was PURSIMU familiar?

It’s familiar because of EPPUR SI MUOVE – I had to teach Galileo last semester in a Humanities course, and I still have a translated copy of the letter to Grand Duchess Christina handy.  “But it does move” as he was alleged to have said.

We weren’t told that there was the name of the author in the title, but GALILEO GALILEI would fit the latent letters at the start (a great find, since the only ones I’d solved at the time were 4, 7, 11, 13, 22, 23, and 24.  A poke around for the works of Galileo and it’s got to be “Dialogo dei due massimi sistemi del mondo”

Having the rest of the title got things off to a roaring start – or maybe a roaring finish, since I think I’d found the endgame before anything else.  I don’t think I would have gotten 1 down (even though it is the pseudonym of a setter I’ve met in person) without knowing the latent letter was O – AUCTOR/AGORA was my last pair in to complete the grid.

Working grid for Listener 4155, Body of Evidence by Jaques

and now we need to turn the earth right round baby right round

To complete the phrase, a body of letters (nice phrase) had to move.  Well we have to get those E’s in place, and looky there – there’s a ring of EARTH (and a sneaky SUN starting at the top of 20 down), which if it moved around one place, would line those E’s up at the start and end of the phrase.

My final grid for Listener 4155, Body of Evidence by Jaques

Eppur Si Muove

Well… a painfully slow start, but a lucky break lead to a fast finish – it’s a rather nice piece of grid construction, no wonder it was an asymmetric grid.  The turning of all those Earth’s was worth it.

Victory to George on one that I was pretty close to giving up on!

2011 tally:  George 30, Listener 8.  Current streak:  George 4

Feel free to leave comments below and see you next week when Parsnip gives us the V sign, in one direction or another.

2 Responses

  1. […] had a few things to do in the morning (work, finish the entry for Body of Evidence) and we were going to head out to the airport in the afternoon.  I’d just finished the Body […]

  2. […] word-puzzle alterego of Arden, which means I’ve really done two Jaques/Arden puzzles – Body of Evidence with the moving earth and the Galileo quote and the sidey-sidey numerical Square-Bashing.  Both of […]

Leave a Reply

